New moon comes March 17, 2018, at 13:12 Universal Time. For many around the globe, the time of this young moon – and the season – signal a possible sighting of an extremely young moon on March 18.

A moon at the new phase comes most nearly – for any particular month – to passing between the Earth and sun. The moon turns new on March 17, 2018 at 13:12 UTC . That is 10:12 a.m. ADT, 9:12 a.m. EDT, 8:12 a.m. CDT, 7:12 a.m. MDT, 6:12 a.m. PDT, 5:12 a.m. Alaskan Time and 3:12 a.m. Hawaiian Time. Translate UTC to your time.

New moons come once each month, as the moon orbits Earth. On the day of new moon – unless we’re viewing a total solar eclipse – we don’t see the new moon. That’s because a new moon rises when the sun rises. It sets when the sun sets. It crosses the sky with the sun during the day. Its fully illuminated face, or day side, is turned entirely away from us.

In astronomy , the new moon is the first lunar phase , when the Moon and Sun have the same ecliptic longitude . [1] At this phase, the lunar disk is not visible to the unaided eye , except when silhouetted during a solar eclipse . Daylight outshines the earthlight that dimly illuminates the dark side of the new Moon. The actual phase is usually a very thin crescent because the Moon rarely passes directly in front of the Sun, except in a solar eclipse. [note 1]

The original meaning of the term new moon , sometimes still used in non-astronomical contexts, was the first visible crescent of the Moon, after conjunction with the Sun. [2] This crescent Moon is briefly visible when low above the western horizon shortly after sunset and before moonset.

A lunation or synodic month is the average time from one new moon to the next. In the J2000.0 epoch, the average length of a lunation is 29.530588 days (or 29 days, 12 hours, 44 minutes, and 2.8 seconds). However, the length of any one synodic month can vary from 29.26 to 29.80 days due to the perturbing effects of the Sun's gravity on the Moon's eccentric orbit . [3] In a lunar calendar , each month corresponds to a lunation. Each lunar cycle can be assigned a unique lunation number to identify it.

New moon comes March 17, 2018, at 13:12 Universal Time. For many around the globe, the time of this young moon – and the season – signal a possible sighting of an extremely young moon on March 18.

A moon at the new phase comes most nearly – for any particular month – to passing between the Earth and sun. The moon turns new on March 17, 2018 at 13:12 UTC . That is 10:12 a.m. ADT, 9:12 a.m. EDT, 8:12 a.m. CDT, 7:12 a.m. MDT, 6:12 a.m. PDT, 5:12 a.m. Alaskan Time and 3:12 a.m. Hawaiian Time. Translate UTC to your time.

New moons come once each month, as the moon orbits Earth. On the day of new moon – unless we’re viewing a total solar eclipse – we don’t see the new moon. That’s because a new moon rises when the sun rises. It sets when the sun sets. It crosses the sky with the sun during the day. Its fully illuminated face, or day side, is turned entirely away from us.

Luna Nueva (New Moon) - Trailer Español - YouTube


The Twilight Saga: New Moon (2009) - IMDb

Posted by 2018 article